This information is intended for the District or School Administrator responsible for handling data management in Typing Agent. If you are a Teacher looking for information on how to update the program for the new school year please contact your Admin. 

There are four common options for how to handle data management between school years. Because Typing Agent does not automatically know how your data will be updated each school year, you will be responsible to create, edit, or delete data as required. 

They are: 

  1. Delete all data every year and start with a fresh slate.
  2. Delete and upload new data for Teachers and Classrooms but keep Schools and Students. 
  3. Keep all existing data and modify.
  4. Clever Sync.

1. Delete all data every year and start with a fresh slate.

Often considered the easiest option, in this scenario you treat every year as the first year regarding data management. The only downside is that any existing student progress from the previous year would be deleted. This is not a good option if your teachers are using a single curriculum multi-year vs a new grade's curriculum every year. 

Delete Your Data

  1. If your a District Admin, delete each of your schools one at a time under District Dashboard>Schools. This will delete all associated data (classes, teachers, students). 
  2. If you're a School Admin, you can delete each class manually under the Classes tab and select the "Delete the CLASS and ALL STUDENTS in the Class" option. Then delete all of the teachers under the Teachers/Admins tab. You can also delete each category of data (Teachers, Classroom, and Students) under the School Setup tab. 

Add Your Data

Load your new data following the guidelines under Getting Started

2. Delete and upload new data for Teachers and Classrooms but keep Schools and Students. 

This option is best if you need to keep last year's Student progress but have enough changes to your Teacher and Classroom rosters that it's easiest to delete the existing and add those data elements in fresh. 

Move Students to Unassigned

  • If you're a District Admin, go to District Settings>Reset Students for New Year>Move ALL students to unassigned
  • If you're a School Admin, go to School Setup>Reset Students for New Year>Move ALL students to unassigned

Delete Classes and Teachers

  • As the District Admin, export a CSV file for your Teacher and Classroom rosters under District Dashboard>Teacher/Admin and District Dashboard>Classroom. Update the files action code to "d" for delete, then upload. 
  • If you're a School Admin, you can delete each class manually under the Classes tab and select the "Delete the CLASS and ALL STUDENTS in the Class" option. Then delete all of the teachers under the Teachers/Admins tab. You can also delete each category of data (Teachers, Classroom, and Students) under the School Setup tab. 

Upload Classes and Teachers

  • Use a CSV file or manually add your Teachers and Classrooms. See Getting Started for info on how to do that. 

Assign Students

  • Use a CSV file or manually move the Students to their new class. See Getting Started for info on how to do that. 

3. Keep all Data and Modify.

This is often considered the most challenging option, as it requires you to contrast and compare your existing data load in Typing Agent to the new school years data from your SIS, and then update your CSV file accordingly before uploading it to Typing Agent. 

  • Manually create, update, or delete data, or use CSV files to update your data. See Getting Started for how to manually update data or use CSV files.

4. Clever Sync.

In this option, you will update the data being shared with Typing Agent in Clever. Your changes will sync after released by Clever and your data share is no longer paused. 

Did this answer your question?