All Collections
Apostrophe and Other Keys Not Recognized (General)
Apostrophe and Other Keys Not Recognized (General)

What to do when your computer does not recognize common character keys. (i.e, ", *)

Gia Deleveaux avatar
Written by Gia Deleveaux
Updated over a week ago

What's the problem?

This seems to be a common problem on notebook-like devices. These computers tend to come with the keyboard language automatically set to US International Keyboard. For Typing Agent to work well, your language setting must be set to US Keyboard and US Language. If it is not, please make that change.

How do I do that fix?

We detail how to do this using different browsers and devices below but briefly, to make these changes, it depends on what you're using but this option is found either in your Control Panel or somewhere in your Settings. Find your setting that deals with Time & Language or Clock, Language and Regional Options. Change the device's keyboard settings from US International (or any other language) to US Keyboard. Make sure that only US Keyboard is selected:


You can use different keyboard languages, sometimes called input methods, on your device to:

  • Change your typing language

  • Use special characters like accent marks or currency symbols

Setting your keyboard language on Chromebook:

  1. Sign in to your Chromebook.

  2. Click the status area, where your account picture appears.

  3. Click Settings > Show advanced settings.

  4. In the "Languages" section, click Language and input settings.

  5. In the left column, select the language you'd like to use. If the language you want to use isn't already listed, click Add, pick the language you want to use, then click OK.

  6. In the right column, check the box that says US Keyboard.

  7. Click Done.

If you have more than one keyboard language turned on, the language you're using will appear in the status area. That way, you can always tell which language you're using.

To switch between languages:

  1. Click the status area, where your account picture appears.

  2. Click your keyboard language .

  3. Click the keyboard language you want to use from the list that appears.

Tip: You can also use keyboard shortcuts to switch between languages:

  • To switch between your keyboard languages, press Alt + Shift.

  • To switch to your previous language, press Ctrl + space.

Set your keyboard language on Windows:

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on Time & Language.

  3. Click on Language.

  4. Select your default language from the list.

Set your keyboard language on Apple devices:

  1. Open System Preferences in the Apple menu.

  2. Select the Keyboard option in the System Preferences window.

  3. Select the Input Sources tab in the Keyboard window.

  4. Select US English.

Did this answer your question?