Google Classroom Sync

Typing Agent allows Google Classroom sync with your teacher/school account. As a teacher or school admin, you can perform this function.

To enable this go to the Classroom tab as a Teacher or School Admin

(Top left of the Class tab)

Click on the Connect a Google Classroom Account button and sign in to your google account.

Select the account you use for your Google Class.

Approve the account permissions to allow rostering your class.
Once connected to the Google Account

Once connected you will get this message and this tab can be closed and you will go back to select your class.

Select the Google Classroom Class you would like to roster into Typing Agent:

To see your connected classes click here

4. Select the options for your class to import: (options explained below)

  1. This is an option for you to rename your class
  2. Select the Primary Teacher for the class
  3. Option to add additional teachers here
  4. Select the Grade for your class
  5. Option to select the days your class will take place

Click >> Create to create the class and import the students

Your imported Google Classroom will show up like this on the left bar of your dashboard, with a Google Classroom icon

Re-importing the same Class and Errors

There are two things to be aware of when working with Google Class and Typing Agent.

1: Re-Importing the same class

To Resync a class to import new students into your class the following needs to be noted.

A new class will be created whenever a new class is imported. This will duplicate the class if it was imported previously.

The new class will have your current students imported. The old class will not update.

NOTE: Each student can be in multiple classes with the same username and password. So the work a student does will show up in multiple classes as the same work.

HOWEVER: A student can ONLY be in one school at a time.

To prevent duplicate classes in the class list it is best practice to delete do one of two things.

Option. 1: Delete the old class and students.
Deleting the Class will NOT delete the students.
If the student is only in one class they will move to unassigned in your roasting list.

Option 2: Move the new students to the old class.

If the old class has custom settings applied to it then the second option is to move the students to the old class and then delete the old class.

The Nickname can be used to identify the class that is original prior to importing the class a second time.

Example of some custom settings that may be set and can be applied to the new imported class or students can be moved into the original class.

2: Error importing student(s)

Students can only be in one (1) school only. if the student is not in your school but rostered in Typing Agent that student will cause an error when importing.

Copy the list of students and ask your other teachers if they have this student rostered in a different school account that is not the same as this school account.

Here, you'll be able to watch a video walkthrough:

Did this answer your question?