Out with the old, in with the new! As a Standalone Single School Administrator, you have the ability to export all of your last year's information to be stored safely on your computers then archive/delete/reset your school's data so your students can begin the new school year in Typing Agent with a clean database. Then you review your School Management choices to make sure they align with your pedagogy and update where necessary. In particular, pay attention to the Time Settings because this affects your reports and when Scheduled Tests are given to students. If these are not touched, don't worry because our default settings will be applied for each grade level.

Export Reports

If you want to keep detailed records of what your students did on your computer, click on Reports and pull whatever school or class-based reports you want:

Notice that there are quite a few reports. Go through and select those that are important for you and if these reports don't really matter for you, simply skip this step.

Now would be a great time to delete the students who have graduated from your school. If you don't do it now, they will be intermingled with new students who will be promoted to that grade level. Simply click on the classroom and active the students by clicking on the checkbox next to their names. A fly-out menu appears to the right. Select Delete Student(s) and confirm that you want to delete them on the pop-up warning that appears. Now those students will not be counted in your roster for next school year. When that this is done, let's move on.

Resetting Steps

To reset your students, click your Admin button and select School Management.


Then, select the New Year Reset tab.

Now, you'll see a list of all of your available options to check:


1. Archive ALL Student Data: Strongly Recommended

When you archive your data, you create and store a summary of your students’ data for the past year within Typing Agent. Should you ever want to revisit that information, simply look under your Archived Reports in your administrator’s Reports area, and select the year you’re looking for.

2. Move Students to the Next Grade Level: Strongly Recommended
Selecting this option will move your students manually up one grade with their classmates and teacher(s). (If you didn't delete the students who had graduated, for example your 12th grade students, they will remain in 12th grade and use your valuable student licenses.) If your graduated students are still there after you've done your new year reset, they will be mixed with your new 12th graders and you will now have to shift through them to delete them. Should you decide to reset your data for the new school year without first deleting the old students, click here for more information on deleting students. (Note: Advancing students’ grade level does not change the curriculum itself, but will alter the target settings inside the already assigned curriculum by increasing expected WPM and Accuracy. We discuss this later with what you should do once the reset has been completed.)

3. Remove ALL unused Student Accounts: Recommended
This will delete all students who have not yet logged into the program. Note, this is irreversible!

4. Reset ALL Student Passwords

This will allow you to reset all students’ passwords to a specific password of your choosing. Like the option prior, this is also irreversible.

5. Delete Existing Students' Progress: Strongly Recommended

Cleaning up your database is the most important step to take in order to get ready for the new school year. It is the best way to ensure students have a clean start as they work towards their new grade-level goals. If old data is not deleted, your students in Grades 3-12 will not be given the start-of year Placement Test that serves to assign the optimal instructional path of learning for their level. Moreover, if you don’t delete last year’s data, your new year's data will be skewed. Remember, by exporting your old data, you keep detailed reports on your computer while a summary of that will be archived within Typing Agent itself. Again, it is strongly recommended that schools export data then archive/delete/reset student data at the end of each school year.

5a. Fix the Start Date for New Data Collection: Strongly Recommended

When students begin a new grade level, we want to capture what they are doing that year and that year only. This is why it is imperative that you fix the start date for the program to begin tracking this information. So, for example, if you have students using Typing Agent during the summer months and your new school year begins August 16, log into Typing Agent on August 15 and take these actions. Fix your start date to August 15 so that our system processes everything that evening and August 16, your students begin the school year with a clean database working towards new goals and all of the summer work is archived and/or saved on your computer.

NOTE: Deleting data can work backwards only. For example, if your school year started August 16 but and it's now October and you realize you never did the data reset, you may still execute the reset without losing the work students did this year - take the actions explained and fix your reset date to August 15. (Doing it this way is not ideal but at least it will clean up the database and have students working towards this new year's goals quickly.)


When you're finished taking the above steps, click Update to finalize your selections.

Important Note: New Year Resets may require a 24 hour turnaround time to run. The email address listed in the account profile will receive a status email once complete. In the meantime, you can select the View Status text in the bottom right corner to see where we're at in the process at any time.

When should this be done?

The school reset for the new year should be done at the end of the school curriculum year and before new students are rostered for the new school year. Once the student's data is reset they will be reset to the start of the program and will begin by taking the assessment and placement test prior to working on the curriculum.

Important Final Steps: After Export/Archive/Delete/Reset are done

Once your student data has been reset, it is very important that you complete getting your account set up. By this, you need to add new students and teachers and review your overall settings. Also, remember that students will be at their new grade level but in their last year's classrooms and cohorts with that teacher. Should you need to update anything, please go in and do so.

Administrators, remember that you may add or update classrooms, teachers or students manually, with Google Classroom, CSV files or have people self register. Should you need help with this, please click here to access our guides on how to add or update staff. Click here for information on how to add or update classrooms and click here to learn how to add or update students.

Now that these are good, your next step is to review and/or update your account's general settings. From your dashboard, hover over your Admin button and select School Management.

Now, see all the editable options available for you. We have the topics clickable so you are able to look deeper into each setting.

Remember: Time Settings directly affect your reports and ensure that Scheduled Tests are accessible only during school hours; Permissions delineate which staff members can manipulate students' accounts and how; Grade Settings affect the lessons, tests, and which grade levels get specific curriculums and games; Gradebook permits the main administrator to change the marking system to what your school uses; Target Settings sets the Words Per Minute and Accuracy Goals as well as the number of times students do an exercise before moving on; Grade-Level Scheduled Tests serve up tests for all students at particular levels should the main administrator want to give school-based tests; and School Portal lets you design how you'd like your Typing Agent page to look as well as how teachers and students access the program. By taking this moment to make sure everything is lined up properly will go a long way in making sure your teachers and students have a successful time this school year.

Because admins tend to overlook this, we want to emphasize the Time Settings.


Notice that these settings are out of Typing Agent's control so we need you to set this up based on your school's calendar and needs. They directly affect your reports and how your students experience the program. When you're finished setting this up, click Save.

Now, you can feel confident that your Typing Agent account is ready for the new school year!


Did this answer your question?